Young Jr. Wins All-Ontario Farmers Bonspiel

The 35th Annual All Ontario Farmers Curling Bonspiel was a huge success in Wallaceburg at the Sydenham Community Curling Club (S.C.C.C). 28 teams both local and across the province came to participate in this fun, competitive winter activity.

All 112 curlers and others enjoyed the curling, the friendship, entertainment, food 1and drink. A special commemorative hat was given to all participants in celebration of the 35th year.

Taking home, the top prize of $3000.00 was the John Young Jr. rink (which included Jacques VanBilson, John McColl, Tim Welbanks) from Chatham. They beat teams from Arthur, Brant, and Wallaceburg.

Teams came from long distances to curl in this prestigious bonspiel.

All 28 teams in multiple flights received cash or agricultural products as prizes. Generously donated by 160+ agricultural companies. Platinum sponsors are Dekalb Seeds, Devolder Farms, Precision Planting, Petro Canada, Waddick Fuels, and new this year Southwest Agromart. Special mention to Patterson Motors who donate shuttle vans that are run by club volunteers through out the weekend to local motels.

The organizing committee wishes to thank the many volunteers and club staff who work tirelessly to make this event the success it is.

All proceeds from the bonspiel go to the continued benefit of all members of Sydenham Community Curling Club and its non-profit, volunteer run, recreational and meeting facility.

Next years 36th edition of the All Ontario Farmers Curling Bonspiel is scheduled for Jan 15-17, 2021.

Share This


Wordpress (0)