Chatham Maroons Hand Out Annual Awards

Bo Bessette Chatham Maroons

Bo Bessette was one of several Chatham Maroons players honoured at this seasons award ceremony – Photo by Helen Heath

The Chatham Maroons handed out their annual awards this past weekend to conclude the 2014-2015 hockey season.

The Junior B team, playing in the GOJHL’s Western Conference finished second in the regular season standings before being ousted in six games by the London Nationals.

Brennan Feasey took home top honour at the banquet being named the team’s most valuable player. Feasey led both the Maroons, and the GOJHL in scoring with 41 goals and 49 assists for 90 points in 48 games this season. For his scoring prowess, Feasey also earned the Brian Wiseman Award as the team’s regular season leading scorer.

Captain Steven Szekesy took home a laundry list of awards, including the team’s Defenseman of the Year, Playoff Leading Scorer, and Playoff MVP.

Levi Tetrault was the Chatham Maroons Rookie of the Year, while also receiving the Ron Coristine Award for Secondary School Academic Achievement. Tetrault finished the season with the OHL’s Guelph Storm after the Maroons were eliminated from playoff contention.

Assistant captain Trevor Richardson received the Jim Torrie Award for Leadership, Ability, and Sportsmanship, as well as the Roy Bruhlman Memorial Award for Most Valuable Senior Player.

Connor Doran also took home multiple honours, as the assistant captain won the Barry Wiseman Memorial Award for Post Secondary Academics, and the Most Desire and Determination Award.

Bo Bessette was the recipient of a pair of awards, receiving the Most Desire and Determination in the Playoffs honour, as well as the George Aitken Award for Dedication to the Team. Aitken passed away earlier this month.

Defenseman Nate Pietens was the CMHA Outstanding Graduate, while Jared Dennis shared the Most Desire and Determination Award, and Connor McKinnon was the Most Improved Player.

The Chatham Maroons organization also handed out awards to their off ice contributors, with Dr. Frank Little and Dr. Jeff Wieringa receiving the Szekesy Maroon Award for Outstanding Representative of the Chatham Organization.

Finally, Chatham’s “Superfan,” Chad Peterson was honoured for bringing the community together during Chatham-Kent’s Kraft Hockeyville bid, which netted the Maroons home arena, Chatham Memorial Arena, $100,000 in upgrades.

Share This


Wordpress (0)