SOS Sprints Entertain At Buxton

Dylan Westbrook

Dylan Westbrook won the SOS Sprints at South Buxton Raceway – Contributed Photo

The Southern Ontario Sprints came out to South Buxton Raceway on Saturday night and put on a show in front of a packed grandstands.

The first SOS tour began on May 18, 1996 at South Buxton Raceway and has completed 37 tours since. With fans on their feet cheering, the sprints kicked off their 25 lap feature with a four wide salute. It was an exciting feature race, the dirt was flying and with only one caution the entire feature, drivers had to work extra hard maneuvering lap traffic to get the checkered flag. Dylan Westbrook #47 Saturdays SOS feature winner kept Ryan Turner #91 in his sights as he raced through the track. Westbrook Chose a path opposite Turner which paid off for Westbrook as he collected another South Buxton Raceway feature win. “That was a great battle, I had a great time racing my brother (Corey Turner) and Dylan” second place finisher Turner said. SOS points leader Corey Turner #97 finished third place.

It was a high-side pass for the lead that put Andrew Reaume #88 back in the Winners Circle following the West Side Performance Plus Late Model Feature. Reaume prepared his car setup to race the high side. He started the race in 6th position behind three crate motors and waited for the right moment to make his move. Reaume’s his win did not come easy as CJ Field #6 wasn’t giving up his lead without a fight. Field, couldn’t overtake Reaume and finished the race second. Dale Glassford #60, who won his heat race, began the feature in 5th position and drove hard racing his way to a third place finish.

It was a fourth Schinkels Gourmet Meat Modified feature win of the season for Clayton Smith #313. Smith, led the majority of the race and at lap sixteen held an impressive 2 second lead on his opponents. “I just put my head down and kept looking in front of me, I was praying for that checkered flag” a tired Smith said in the Winners Circle. Brian Speelman #22s began the race in 5th position and raced hard maneuvered track traffic. However, he couldn’t compete with Smiths two second lead and finished the race in second place. Mario Toniolo #14 finished in third place.

Trevor Jones #27 finally drove his way into The Great Canadian Oil Change Mini Mod Feature win. Jones was beaming in the Winners Circle saying “I won it fair and square, hopefully we can do it again next week”. With 5 laps in the feature to go and a single file restart, Jones chose his line and proved he has the skill and determination to take home a checkered flag. Andrew Pfahler #7x began the feature in 13th position and impressively climbed his way to a second place finish. Caleb O’Leary #28K finished third.

There was a new face in the Winners Circle following the Auto Tech Sales and Service Thunderstock Feature. James Thompson #00J, hailing from St. Catharines Ont, was back at South Buxton ready to take on Points Leader Steve Shaw #96. Thompson put on a fantastic show for the fans as he and Shaw Sr. battled nose to nose for a first place finish. Thompson had the extra bite he needed to bring home a feature win. Shaw fought hard but couldn’t quite catch the leader and finished second. Ryan Beagle #84RK finished third.

Share This


Wordpress (0)