Wes Cunningham, A Chatham-Kent Athlete Who Came baCK

Wes Cunningham is baCK living and working in Chatham-Kent after a professional hockey career

Chatham-Kent sends athletes across Ontario, Canada, and the globe each year to compete athletically. Sponsored by baCK to Chatham-Kent, we’ll be featuring local athletes who have left Chatham-Kent, and are now baCK, living, working, and staying connected to our own vibrant sports community in CK.

This week, we feature Dresden’s Wes Cunningham. Following a productive OHL career, Cunningham played 10 seasons of professional hockey in the AHL, ECHL, Norway, France, and the Erste Liga.

Cunningham now lives in Chatham-Kent with his wife and two kids

Here are Wes’ responses to our baCK to Chatham-Kent athletes interview:

1. Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Dresden.

2. What is your favourite Chatham-Kent pastime?

My favourite Chatham-Kent pastime is boating. I love a relaxing day on the boat with friends and family.

3. What did you do after high school?

After high school I finished my OHL career in Plymouth, Michigan. After my OHL career I played in the ECHL for seven years and three years in Europe split between France, Norway and Hungary.

4. What are you doing now?

I am now currently working at my wife’s family business, Mamma Maria’s Ristorante as a server.

5. What has made you happiest, or been the best surprise about moving baCK to Chatham-Kent?

As much as I miss the game, I’m happy to be home with my girls for the holidays.

6. What would you tell someone who is considering living in Chatham-Kent?

I’ve lived and travelled to many countries and cities in the world, but Chatham is a great place to call home. I like that it’s a fairly quiet place and everything is a just few minutes away.

7. Why did you choose to move baCK to Chatham-Kent?

After having two kids, my wife and I decided to move back home to be with our family and friends. Chatham is central to so many bigger cities, (London, Windsor, Detroit) so we can go for a quick drive if we want a change of scenery.

8. Describe your current sports involvement

I’m currently playing a Thursday night men’s league in Blenheim and also do one on one lessons with local kids as well. I like to get out on the ice as much as possible.

Share This


Wordpress (0)