Novice Wildcats Go Undefeated To Gold

Chatham-Kent Wildcats

The Chatham-Kent Wildcats Novice boys celebrate their win – Contributed Photo

The Chatham-Kent Wildcats Novice Boys basketball team brought home gold medals after participating in the MUMBA Tournament this past weekend. The boys went 4-0, adding to their 5-0 win streak.

The Chatham-Kent Wildcats played their opening game against Ancaster Magic. Braelen Baylis led the team with 8 points and 2 assists, while Tommy Grochmal and Elijah Brown contributed 6 points each and Ugo Adefarasin added 5 points and 2 assists. Carter Segee had a strong defensive game with 7 rebounds and 7 steals while Latrell Cobey-Hutchings added 7 rebounds and 3 steals.

In the Wildcats’ second game against Thornhill Thunder, Braelen Baylis led the team with 10 points and 2 assists with 6 steals and 5 rebounds. Carter Segee added 8 points, 2 assists, and an amazing 13 rebounds. Ugo Adefarasin added 4 points, 4 assists and 8 steals while Tommy Grochmal added 6 points and 5 rebounds. Latrell Cobey-Hutchings contributed 4 points, 2 assists and 5 steals.

To finish out pool play, CK held their streak, defeating South Simcoe Sonics. Braelen Baylis led the team with 15 points and 3 assists while Tommy Grochmal added 6 points. Latrell Cobey-Hutchings added 2 points, 2 assists, 4 steals and 10 rebounds, while Carter Segee contributed 4 points, 9 rebounds and 2 steals. Ugo Adefarasin added 2 assists, 7 rebounds, 6 steals and 2 blocks.

In their Championship Game, the boys battled hard against a tough Peterborough Power team, finishing with a final score of 32-21 and a hard earned Gold Medal. Ugo Adefarasin led the team with 13 points, 9 rebounds and 2 blocks. Carter Segee contributed 8 points, 8 rebounds and 6 steals, while Braelen Baylis contributed 7 points, 1 assist, 2 steals and 3 rebounds. Latrell Cobey-Hutchings held a strong defensive game with 8 rebounds and 7 steals while Gabe Deighton added 7 rebounds, 5 steals and 1 block.

Braelen Baylis and Ugo Adefarasin were co-recipients of the Player of the Tournament Award.

Pictured Above: (L-R bottom row) Cameron Pennell, Elijah Brown, Ugo Adefarasin, Latrell Cobey-Hutchings, Braelen Baylis.(L-R top row): Julian Shadd (coach), Jack Chickowski, Carter Segee, Tommy Grochmal, Royce Turner, Dionte Vandenbogaerde, Gabe Deighton, Skylar Baylis (coach). Missing from the photo are Blake Newcombe and Brett Vanderveen.

Share This


Wordpress (0)