Farmers Bonspiel in Wallaceburg this weekend

Farmers from across Ontario will be descending on Wallaceburg this weekend.

The 37th All Ontario Farmers Curling Bonspiel running from Jan 19-21 at Sydenham Community Curling Club ( SCCC) is all set to bring curling farmers from all across Ontario vying for the top prize of $3,000.

A total of 28 teams enjoy, curling, entertainment, good food, and fun. Many sponsors donate products of seed, promotional items, cash and other farm inputs to fill out a prize board of $19,000. Led by Waddick Fuels with that $3,000 first-place prize.

Mike Gallant headlines Friday nights entertainment. Mike returns with his musical talents and keeps the party atmosphere going. Saturday night features Buck20 as a first time entertainment duo of singer songwriters.

Curling starts bright and early Friday with a four game guarantee that wraps up with Sunday’s finals at 2 p.m. A unique feature of this bonspiel is combine races across the curling club’s lounge floor. Five combines and one sugar beet harvester are in the club.

A door prize table is available with at least $5,000 in prizes to be won. Get your wingspan to nab all kinds of farm and not so farm prizes.

The organizing committee led by Jerry Meyskens, along with many SCCC volunteers make this the premier curling event in all of Ontario and makes for a major fund raiser. Spectators are welcome to see some high level and not so high-level curling.

Check out and follow the 37th All Ontario Farmers Curling Bonspiel; website, Facebook, X. for all the details.

CKSN’s David Gough, a former Farmers Bonspiel participant, handicaps the field, even though he has never seen about 12 of these teams curl. Skips and home club listed.

Tier One—Potential champs
John Young Jr., Blenheim (2020, 2018 and 2002 champ)
Matt Mapletoft, Lambton
Jerry Meyskens, Sydenham (2014, 2013, 2006, 2000, 1997, 1991 and 1986 champ)
Jeremiah Rabideau, Glencoe (2023 champ)
Scott Lennox, Arthur (2017, 2015, 2011, 2008 champs)

Tier Two—In the hunt
Dave Meyskens, Sydenham
Mike DeCock, Sydenham
Paul Dhaen, Sydenham
Ian Fraser, Alexandria
Brian Ross, Cookstown
Bill Mitchell, Glencoe (2012 and 2010 champs)
Mark Patterson, Slip Clutch
Harry Emmott, Paris
Shawn Parrish, Port Perry
Bill McFadden, Arthur (2004 champ)

Tier Three—Miracle on Ice potential
Floyd Howard, Sarnia
Darrick Harrop, Sydenham
Harry Courtis, Sydenham
Brent Glover, Sydenham
Eric Kerr, Meaford
Jim King, Brant
Jay Johnston, Sydenham
Rick De Weerd, Forest
Paul Dobbs, Seaforth
Brian Gillow, Paris
Jeff Mooney, Espanola

Bill Ross, Pain Court
Tim Caron, Sweeping Beauties





Share This


Wordpress (1)
  • comment-avatar
    Harry Courtis 4 months

    This is bulletin board material. Go Team Courtis…..